Site icon NLN Nursing EDge

NLN Nursing EDge Editorial Advisory Board

Matthew Byrne, PhD, RN, CNE

Matt Byrne currently serves as the Director of Nursing Technology Resources at Mayo Clinic. He is a columnist and reviewer for the Journal of Perianesthesia Nursing and has been a reviewer for various journals and textbooks. Prior to his work as an informaticist and educator, he worked for many years as a perianesthesia staff nurse in Rochester, St. Cloud and the Twin Cities. He is passionate about making technology work better for nurses and values the opportunity he has to be a technology and cultural broker between healthcare providers and information technology developers.

Donna Guerra, EdD, MSN, RN

Donna Guerra currently serves as a Clinical Assistant Professor in the College of Nursing at the University of Alabama in Huntsville. Dr. Guerra holds a Doctorate of Education in Instructional Leadership with a nursing education focus from the University of Alabama. Dr. Guerra has clinical experience in perioperative nursing, wound care nursing, and quality management. She has been a nurse educator for four years and has published on the implementation of health informatics in nursing education curricula. Her research interest is nursing education with a focus on learning outcomes translation to nursing practice.

Jasline Moreno, MSN, RN, CHSE

Jasline Moreno is the faculty lead for the Maryland Clinical Resource Consortium (MCSRC). MCSRC is a statewide funding initiative under the auspices of the Nurse Support Program II and the Maryland Higher Education Commission. The initiative provides simulation education for Maryland’s 25 pre-licensure nursing programs, and hospital educators to increase quality and quantity of simulation used in nursing education. She serves on the International Nursing Association of Simulation and Learning’s membership committee and is an active member of the Maryland Community and College Simulation Users Network.

 Beth Hallmark, PhD, RN, MSN, CHSE, ANEF

Dr. Hallmark has been a faculty member at Belmont University School of Nursing in Nashville, TN since 1996. Beth has been involved in simulation since 2007 and currently serves as the Director of Simulation for the College of Health Sciences and Nursing at Belmont. In 2010, she completed her PhD in Educational Leadership with a concentration in E-learning where she examined the impact of faculty debriefing training on the cognitive outcomes of students. She received her CHSE-A certification in 2019. She led the formation of the Tennessee Simulation Alliance and remains active with the Alliance. Beth is an active member of INACSL where she has served on various committees. She is a SSIH accreditation visitor. In 2019, Beth was inducted into the NLN Academy of Nursing Education.

Tonya Schneidereith, PhD, CRNP, PPCNP-BC, CPNP-AC, CNE, CHSE-A, ANEF, FAAN

Dr. Tonya Schneidereith is an Associate Professor at the University of Maryland where she emphasizes patient safety for prelicensure and advanced practice nursing students through simulation-based education. She is actively engaged in state and national simulation initiatives, including the Maryland Clinical Simulation Resource Consortium, the Society for Simulation in Healthcare, as a founding member of the National Organization of Nurse Practitioner Faculties Simulation Committee, and as an inaugural Steering Committee Member of the Nurse Practitioner Simulation Consortium. Her work with the NLN began as a 2015 Sim Leader and has continued with the Editorial Advisory Board for the NLN’s Center for Innovation in Simulation and Technology, as the Thomas Sykes author for the ACE.P scenarios, and as contributor to the Social Determinants of Health Vision Statement. She holds certifications as a Pediatric Nurse Practitioner, Certified Nurse Educator, and as one of the few internationally-designated as an Advanced Healthcare Simulation Educator.

Elizabeth Speakman, EdD, RN, FNAP, ANEF, FAAN

Elizabeth Speakman, EdD, RN, FNAP, ANEF, FAAN, was appointed as Chief Nurse Executive- Senior Associate Dean and Professor of Nursing at University of Delaware on August 1, 2020. Prior to this appointment, Dr. Speakman was the Associate Provost for Interprofessional and Tele-health Education and Professor at the University of the Sciences in Philadelphia Pennsylvania. Dr. Speakman also held faculty and administrative appointments at Thomas Jefferson University, as Professor in the Jefferson College of Nursing and Co-Director of the Jefferson Interprofessional Education Center, Associate Dean of Student Affairs and Assistant Dean of the RN-BSN program in the Jefferson College of Nursing. Dr. Speakman is a Fellow in the American Academy of Nursing, Fellow in the Academy of Nursing Education, Fellow in the National Academies of Practice and a Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Executive Nurse Fellow.

Dr. Speakman work has been widely recognized both nationally and internationally. She authored two books Interprofessional Education and Collaborative Care in Nursing Education (recipient of AJN 2nd place Book-of-the-Year Award), and Body Fluids and Electrolytes: and has been a contributing author in numerous books serves as a curriculum expert and consultant with over 150 national and international presentations. Dr. Speakman served two three-year terms as a Board of Governor for the National League for Nursing and was awarded the Louise McManus Medal for Distinguish Service to Nursing Education and inducted into Columbia University Nursing Hall of Fame for her Extraordinary Contribution to Nursing and Health Care.  Dr. Speakman received a BS in Nursing from Wagner College, New York and her Master Degree and Doctorate in Nursing from Columbia University and a Certificate in Healthcare Education from the Harvard-Macy Institute at Harvard University.

Susan Gross Forneris, PhD, RN, CNE, CHSE-A, FAAN – ex-officio

Dr. Forneris is a former Professor of Nursing at St. Catherine University, St. Paul, MN and is currently the Director for the National League for Nursing Division for Innovation in Education Excellence, Washington, DC. Selected for inclusion in the 2010 inaugural group of NLN Simulation Leaders, she has been working in the field of clinical simulation since 2003. She is instrumental in the design and implementation of NLN faculty development resources focused on simulation pedagogy. Her expertise is in curriculum and teaching/learning strategies. Her research is focused on critical thinking. Most recently, she co-authored Critical Conversations: The NLN Guide for Teaching Thinking.

Exit mobile version